weight that are function of time

Topics: algorithm, graph
Jul 29, 2009 at 11:34 PM

Is it possible to apply function over time as weight for an edge, In oder word if i have this graph

A->B, B->D,A->C,C->D,D->E and wanna go from A to E

then i have 2 solutions: A->B->D->E and A->C->D->E,

can D->E weight be different depending on the path that was taked?

If yes how look the function that we can add into the graph for the weight

Dictionary<Edge<TVertex>, ???> where ??? is a function of time?

thz in advance

Jul 30, 2009 at 1:29 PM

What are you trying to accomplish? Are you trying to determine which path you took from A to E? I'm not an expert but I don't believe the weight of the edge between D -> E should change.

Jul 30, 2009 at 2:36 PM

The goal is to use weight that can be different for the same edge depending on the path that you take. As a example consider a shortest path algorith that represent a human running trough a road. It is pretty easy to set a weight for each edge base on the distance. Let say A->B= 2 ,B->D=3, A->C=1,C->D=6,D->E=8. That is working fine and is pretty easy to represent with Quickgraph. But let consider that we want to also take care about the wind or the time that the runner have to wait if a train go trought the path. Then depending on the way that you select the same edge can have a different weight since the wind can change direction. Let say in this example that if you use the path A->B->D->E the edge D->E = 7.5 and if you take the path A-C->D->E the edge D->E = 8.5. So instead of having a static value for the edge weight, is it possible to use a function, and if yes, how this function look like?

I aggre that in this example the shortest path will always be the same, but ive selected a really simple example just to show the concept since i am using huge graph. In that case it can makes huge difference,

Thz in advance (since english is not my main language it can be possible that some sentense look special :))